The Meaning Of Lost

Artemis J Jones
20 min readJan 10, 2018

When you’re seven, surrounded by family members, trapped in a dusky surrealistic world, the desire to wander away from the darkness is strong. But where will you go? And how long will it take?

I heard Jenny left him. Wayne told me that. He watched her get in the car, back it up into the street, and while it was still moving backwards, she slammed it into drive, squealed the tires and was never to be seen again. Later Steve showed me a postcard from California that she sent. Claims she had an uncle out there. She left with their daughter and most of their bank account.

Steve was at the marina the day she went AWOL. Anyone who just gets angry, leaves, and robs a man of his child, money, and meaning of life is absent without leave. Divorce is permission to leave. But running? From what? Steve didn’t seem all that bad to me. He worked on One For All, his boat, most of the time. Kooky name for a boat I think. But that don’t make ’im a major sicko. Last day I saw him, he kept insisting he had to make sure she was ready. Ready for what? I don’t know. Wasn’t long after postcard day, Steve left too. Now, of all nights, while it’s pouring rain, Steve calls, Thunder’s so loud I can barely hear him on the phone. Power’s out, lightnin’s flashin’. He’s been gone for more than a month. Suddenly he needs a ride home? Wonder what happened to his truck?

--

--

Artemis J Jones

Face of a bartender. Observing and listening, two of my greatest faults. I read your work, and I’ll respond in truth or remain silent, wading in my ignorance.